My son, who had a severe regression at 18 months because of a severe intolerance to gluten and two genes for celiac, has only gotten sick twice in the year he has been gluten free. The first time WAS A REACTION TO RICE DREAM that was labelled "contains gluten from barley protein at less that 0.002%" that was purchased by accident. His severe reaction to miniscule traces of barley was actually what made me realize that the gluten intolerance was behind his illness. The second time he got sick with foul diarrhea, red cheeks and cold symptoms and fussiness was A REACTION TO RICE DREAM that was labelled GLUTEN FREE. I thought the company had changed their recipe and that it no longer contained barley. Apparently it didn't...The company took BARLEY off the label because it was such a small amount and because of testing which determined it was gluten free.
This letter is courtesy of Austin's GFCF Diet Journal...He wrote to the company and received this reply.
Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding our Rice Dream Beverage. We apologize for the delay in our reply and appreciate your patience. We strive to maintain the highest quality products and we appreciate your patronage.
Analytical testing methods and detection limits have improved over the years. Recent testing shows that the Rice Dream Beverages (as well as the barley protein used to make the product) meet gluten free requirements. This has probably been true historically, however analytical testing methods did not permit us to make this claim. We have always maintained a conservative stance regarding gluten in the beverages. The same rigorous standards now allow us to declare them gluten free. The formula and processing methods for Rice Dream beverages have not changed. Each batch will be tested appropriately.
Thank you for your continued support. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-434-4246, Monday through Friday from 7AM - 5PM Mountain Time.
Consumer Relations Representative
The human body is, apparently, more sensitive than some tests. Since gluten is toxic to people with celiac, no amount is safe for those who are super sensitive.